Return to Headlines

Counseling Resources Available Today/This Weekend: 11/19/21

Dear RCSD Community,

In the wake of the tragic loss of one of our students, we recognize that there may be a number of students, families, faculty, and staff who are in need of grief counseling and/or support over the weekend. Counselors and psychologists will be available to meet in person at Rye High School tonight (Friday) until 7:00 p.m. Please use the main entrance after school hours. Should you prefer to speak to a counselor over the phone, please call 914-967-6100, ext. 6000. All interactions with counselors will be kept private and confidential.

Counselors will also be in attendance at tonight’s away varsity football game at Middletown. To locate a counselor at the event, please speak with Dr. Byrne, Athletic Director Susan Reid Dullea, or Assistant Principal Bobby Zegarelli.

On Saturday and Sunday, counselors will be available from 10:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m. and 4:00-7:00 p.m. in the Rye High School media center. The same number noted above will be monitored for telecounseling if that is preferred.

Below are a number of online resources that may be helpful:

https://pnwboces.org/PNWBOCES/media/PNWBOCES/RCT%20Files/Talking-to-Children-About-Death.pdf

https://pnwboces.org/files/ARCT-Files/RCT-Files/How-to-Help-a-Grieving-Teen.aspx

https://pnwboces.org/PNWBOCES/media/PNWBOCES/RCT%20Files/Death-and-Grief-Supporting-Children-and-Youth.pdf

Several area organizations deal specifically with grieving:

The Bereavement Center of Westchester
https://www.bcwtreehouse.org/

The Family Centers in Greenwich
https://www.familycenters.org/The-Den-for-Grieving- Kids

Please do not hesitate to reach out to any of us if you need assistance or know someone who does. We are here to help.

Sincerely,

The RCSD psychologists, social workers, and counselors:

Robert Schechter, RHS School Psychologist: schechter.robert@ryeschools.org
Marisa Cuomo, RHS School Psychologist: cuomo.marisa@ryeschools.org
Erika Richardson, RHS ESS Mental Health Counselor: richardson.erika@ryeschools.org
Corina Manders, ESS Mental Health Counselor at RMS: manders.corina@ryeschools.org
Erin Hyle, RMS School Psychologist: hyle.erin@ryeschools.org
Natalie Spina, RMS School Psychologist: spina.natalie@ryeschools.org
Andrea Meranda, ESS Elementary Mental Health Counselor: meranda.andrea@ryeschools.org
Dr. Anat Mor, Midland School Psychologist: mor.anat@ryeschools.org
Joanna Diaco, Milton School Psychologist: diaco.joanna@ryeschools.org
Concettina Pizzuti, Osborn School Psychologist: pizzuti.concettina@ryeschools.org

Sandy Degenhardt, RHS Social Worker: degenhardt.sandy@ryeschools.org
Peter Green, RMS Social Worker: green.peter@ryeschools.org

Megan Bradley, RHS Counselor: bradley.megan@ryeschools.org
Charles Cipriano, RHS Counselor: cipriano.charles@ryeschools.org
Jaime Condon, RHS Counselor: condon.jaime@ryeschools.org
Jennifer Herwick, RHS Counselor: herwick.jennifer@ryeschools.org
James O'Hara, RHS Director of Counseling: ohara.james@ryeschools.org
Garrett Renner, RHS Counselor: renner.garrett@ryeschools.org
Vanessa Caine, RMS Counselor, Grade 6: caine.vanessa@ryeschools.org
Dina Farewell, RMS Counselor, Grade 7: farewell.dina@ryeschools.org
Robert Villanova, RMS Counselor, Grade 8: villanova.robert@ryeschools.org
Rosemarie Bracciodieta, Elementary Guidance Counselor: bracciodieta.rosemarie@ryeschools.org