Return to Headlines

Service Details and Counseling Resources: 11/22/21

Dear RCSD Community, 

As we navigate a tragic loss, it is important to share that we are continuing to provide resources and support for students and teachers. Mental health professionals are onsite at RHS for students and staff all day today in the Library Media Center, Counseling Suite, and Conference Room A. We continue to receive counseling assistance from the Middle School and Elementary School Counselors and Clinicians as well as neighboring school districts and community organizations. The BluePath Service dogs are also back to provide support and comfort during community lunch. These supports will continue to be available for the remainder of the school week. 

On Tuesday, November 23, at 5:00 PM, a memorial service will be held for Morgan Kaplan at Rye Presbyterian Church at 882 Boston Post Road. We have been asked to provide space at RHS for the service to be live-streamed. Students, staff, and community members are welcome to view the memorial service from the Performing Arts Center (PAC). If you wish to view from your home, the link can be found here

Below you will find resources that may be helpful to you and your family: 

Resources:

Local Organizations:

It is important for young people to connect with a trusted adult when they are feeling upset. Our counseling and clinical staff are highly trained and available to speak with students. Students may speak with any of the staff below, regardless of which school they currently attend:  

RHS Counseling and Clinical Staff 

Robert Schechter, RHS School Psychologist: schechter.robert@ryeschools.org
Marisa Cuomo, RHS School Psychologist: cuomo.marisa@ryeschools.org
Erika Richardson, RHS ESS Mental Health Counselor: richardson.erika@ryeschools.org
Corina Manders, ESS Mental Health Counselor at RMS: manders.corina@ryeschools.org
Erin Hyle, RMS School Psychologist: hyle.erin@ryeschools.org
Natalie Spina, RMS School Psychologist: spina.natalie@ryeschools.org
Andrea Meranda, ESS Elementary Mental Health Counselor: meranda.andrea@ryeschools.org
Dr. Anat Mor, Midland School Psychologist: mor.anat@ryeschools.org
Joanna Diaco, Milton School Psychologist: diaco.joanna@ryeschools.org
Concettina Pizzuti, Osborn School Psychologist: pizzuti.concettina@ryeschools.org

Sandy Degenhardt, RHS Social Worker: degenhardt.sandy@ryeschools.org
Peter Green, RMS Social Worker: green.peter@ryeschools.org

Megan Bradley, RHS Counselor: bradley.megan@ryeschools.org
Charles Cipriano, RHS Counselor: cipriano.charles@ryeschools.org
Jaime Condon, RHS Counselor: condon.jaime@ryeschools.org
Jennifer Herwick, RHS Counselor: herwick.jennifer@ryeschools.org
James O'Hara, RHS Director of Counseling: ohara.james@ryeschools.org
Garrett Renner, RHS Counselor: renner.garrett@ryeschools.org
Vanessa Caine, RMS Counselor, Grade 6: caine.vanessa@ryeschools.org
Dina Farewell, RMS Counselor, Grade 7: farewell.dina@ryeschools.org
Robert Villanova, RMS Counselor, Grade 8: villanova.robert@ryeschools.org
Rosemarie Bracciodieta, Elementary Guidance Counselor: bracciodieta.rosemarie@ryeschools.org

Given the feelings of many students, and based on the advice of experts in the field, we have asked that High School teachers postpone any tests or assessments until next week.

Please reach out if you or someone you know needs support. We are here to help in any way that we can.

Sincerely, 

Eric Byrne, Ed.D.
Superintendent of Schools
byrne.eric@ryeschools.org

Suzanne Kelly Short
Interim Principal, RHS
short.suzanne@ryeschools.org